> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.m1amdocs.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Deactivate User

As as Care Agent, you deactivate a user by selecting the **Actions** > **Deactivate user** located in the upper-right corner of their **Identity** page.

A user deactivation is a **permanent** removal of the user and is **not** reversible from the Care console.

If you need to remove the user temporarily, consider a [user suspension](sgSuspendingUser) instead.

To deactivate a user permanently, do the following:

1. Sign in to the Care console. By default, the **Find a User** screen appears.

2. Navigate to **Actions** > **Deactivate User** located in the top-right corner.

3. A confirmation message prompts you to select one of the following:

   * **Deactivate** logs the user out of all current sessions, and prevents the user from authenticating. This action is permanent.
   * **Cancel** to return to the user's **Identity** page.

The selected user is deactivated and their status is changed to **Deactivated** in the Care console. The system revokes all sessions and access tokens from the user. The user's history (user data) is retained in the Care console.

**Parent topic:**[User Management](careAboutUserIdentity)


This documentation is built and hosted on [Mintlify](https://mintlify.com), a developer documentation platform.